Is your state offering the $300 weekly unemployment boost? This map will show you

Hundreds of jobless people wait outside the Kentucky Career Center for help with their unemployment claims on June 19 in Frankfort, Kentucky.

John Sommers II/Getty Images

The Federal Emergency Management Agency, which is overseeing program funding, had approved 26 states to offer the extra unemployment benefits as of around 10:30 a.m. ET on Monday. 

Those states are: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Rhode Island, Tennessee, Texas, Utah and Vermont.

Officials in around 10 other states have applied or signaled they plan to apply for the assistance. 

South Dakota has said it will not apply for the subsidy. 

States approved for aid are guaranteed just three weeks of funding, with payments back-dated to the week ended Aug. 1. However, they may get more aid, depending on how many states apply and how quickly the money is drawn down. 

Not all unemployed workers are eligible for the payments. Those currently getting less than $100 a week in unemployment benefits won’t receive the assistance — amounting to thousands of people, and perhaps more than 1 million.

View Article Origin Here

Related Articles

Back to top button